2019 Verandah 35 Publication Team

Verandah: a word that is musical, poetic and historic in that it featured prominently in the Australian vernacular, encapsulating in an architectural sense to invite the reader onto the deck and into a comfy chair, with feet up for a leisurely read. A verandah is wide and expansive, big enough to accommodate a multitude of meanings.

About Verandah Journal

Verandah Literary and Art Journal was founded in 1986 by the verandahs of Victoria College—now known as Deakin University—where writing students would sit their exams. This beautiful and historical Australian site became the perfect image of a learning and training ground. Thus, Verandah was born.

Verandah Journal was established as an annual, student-run print publication providing rich editorial and publishing experience for fresh students with new ideas each year. Publication teams are carefully selected from students studying professional and creative writing at Deakin. The work of each Verandah team equates to running a small business, as well as a platform for editors to hone their skills and put theory into practice.

Verandah showcases the best work of emerging writers and artists. It is an impressive body of work that serves as a platform for budding artists and writers to experience the joy of being celebrated, to network and to build their portfolio and professional presence in the literature and arts industries. We also offer the opportunity to win prizes in all categories.

The first edition of Verandah was launched in the great hall of Stonnington, graced with the presence of family, friends, supportive academics, the contributors, and acclaimed Australian writers Helen Garner and Garry Disher. Many well-known names can be found in the pages of Verandah!

Our founding editors are Anne Casey, Katie Cody, Genevieve Fitzgerald and Dianne Perrin Knie. You can read an interview with Genevieve Fitzgerald in our ‘Interviews’ section, where she says:

‘One thing’s for sure: the training I gained from Verandah taught me profound lessons about courage and risk, creativity and collaboration, about how a good idea can become a generous reality that applies the ‘pay it forward’ principle if everyone is willing to share. I am forever grateful to the people who helped to get the journal off the notepad and onto the bookshelf, to all those who continue to nourish it and to the ever-increasing family that grows from Verandah’s annual publication.’



Previous publication teams:

V34 Melina Bunting, Laura Clark, Jo French, Chantelle Gourlay and Mahima Jacob.
V33 Beth Andrews, Katelin Farnsworth, Andrea Levens, Mel O’Connor and Elizabeth Ross.
V32 Courtney Carland, Sophia Desiatov, Emma Taylor and Julija Zivanovic.
Lauren Carta, Melanie Hunter, Angelina Kitono, Lauren Magee, Mark Russell and Dan Watts.
V30 Jessica Harvie, Bonnee Crawford, Sarah Bilotta, Breanna Zampaglione and Justine Stella.
V29 Charlotte Beveridge, Ash Leonard, Sylvia McQueen, Dionne Seah, Lili O’Sullivan, Tash Tran and Enhui Yu.
V28 Sarah Allen, Leizl Bermejo, Hayley Elliott-Ryan, Lauren Hawkins, Kyah Horrocks and Jonathon Lawrence.
V27 Katy Andrews, Emily Eaton, Effie Mann, Bryce Mason, Kathryn Rowan and Laura Morina.
V26 Kate Festini, Rebecca Hackett, Mark Hamilton, Alison Musgrove, Greta Rehak and Bianca Weller.
V25 Amber Beilharz, Karen Fraser, Skye McFarlane, Palila Opit and Melissa Ryan.
V24 Charlotte Adams, Claire Duffy, Katherine Harland and Blue Mahy.
V23 Rachel Healey, Asha Ioculari, Kathryn Keeble, Stephanie Schauer and Rhys Tate.
V22 Natalie Bradley, Kate Burbury, Stephanie Farley, Isabel Lim, Jeremy Loadman and Jess Mawson.
V21 Mary-Jane Daffy, Charlston Goch, Lisa-Skye Ioannidis, Kathryn Page, Amanda Powell and Danielle Whelen.
V20 Kate Smith, Leonie Marchello, Daniel Lawler, Sarah Tanner, Shalini Akhil and Patrick Thomas.
V19 Briony Davis, Eleni Miller, Emma Morris, Effie Papandreou and Elisabeth Young.
V18 Debbie Bennett, Karina Biggs, Terry Cantwell, Jo-anne Hotchkin, Bernadette Rafferty and Carolyn Tate.
V17 Jonathan Danaher, Robyn Ellson, Jason Ellul and Anuska Phizazklea.
V16 Jane Brushfield, Erin Byrne, Chris Ferreira, Rebecca Leech, Cyndy Muraca and Lois Murphy.
V15 Megan Bailey, Dale Campisi, Ashley Hibbert, Rachel Pitts, Sarah Saunders and Kirsty Seymour.
V14 Jacinta Armstrong, Daniela Ciminelli, Jeni-Elen George, Ruth Jelley, Kate Molony and Angelo Pietrobon.
V13 Sophie Black, Emma Brooks, Christine Fontana, Christopher Gabriel, Kate Hagan, Jennifer Lee and David Sornig.
V12 Anna Coleman, Kate Johnstone, Barbara Oakman, Caitilin Punshon, Winnie Salamon, Gary Smith and Kate Whitfield.
V11 Karina Grift, Michelle Hessels, Eliza Hurren, Sarah Nelms and Brigid Rasmussen.
V10 Kathy Castle, Janine Eberle, Thalia Kalkipsakis, Tai McQueen and Clare Murphy.
V9 Michelle Abel, Cara Adams, Natasha Cho, Jenny Roberts and Kate Ryall.
V8 Narelle Coulter, Claire Konkes, Christopher McAsey, Georgina Roussis, Judy Smallman and Annunziata Zoiti-Licastro.
V7 Susan Brown, Tegan James, Iris Lauchland and Leah Willian.
V6 Lisa D’Onofrio, Cheryl Kohek, Kylie Martin, Narelle Sullivan and Lee Walker.
V5 Tracy Barnes, Caz Brown and Louisa Ragas.
V4 Cathy Edmonds and Peter Russ.
V3 Susannah Latham, Scott McCaffrey, Sarah Niner and Herbert Schlegel.
V2 Colleen Cridland and Anne Sanger, Paul Conroy.
V1 Anne Casey, Katie Cody, Genevieve Fitzgerald and Diane Perrin Kni.


Back to top